Unexpected Yet Beautiful Surprise

By America Lopez, Talon Staff Co-editor
It’s strange that sometimes the thing that you least expected or wanted is one of the best things that has ever happened to you. One of my favorite memories of this year is finding out that I got into UC Santa Cruz even though I never imagined myself going there. I applied to most of the UC’s because Mrs. Suth made the personal statements an assignment. I thought, “why not? It’s an assignment, I might as well apply.” I didn’t really expect anything from it, but I ended up getting into Davis, San Diego, Santa Barbara, and Santa Cruz.
I was incredibly excited that I got in and then started thinking about actually going to one of the schools. I was born and raised in Santa Barbara until I was eight, so I wasn’t sure I wanted to go back and live there, given that I wanted to experience something new. San Diego was a bit too far for my tastes and my mother’s. Davis seemed kind of in the middle of nowhere (no offense to anyone going to Davis, it is a magnificent school). So, then I started looking more closely at Santa Cruz. It had a beautiful campus and a very strong psychology program. To top it all off, it was only an hour away from home. It was perfect. That’s how I found my new home (in October!)
It’s strange to me that things you never expected to happen sometimes completely change your life, for better or for worse. This time, thankfully it’s for the best. This amazing thing that happened to me is something that will change my atmosphere and views over the next four years. I’m going to be in a college that will help me grow into someone who will help me further my career, and my life. It’s an incredibly exciting experience that came out of a homework assignment. Deuteronomy 28 tells us that, “If we will keep God first place, if we will walk in His ways, all these blessings will overtake us.” We need to remember that if we have faith in a God and all the things He has for our lives, we will thrive.