Music and its Biblical Influence

By Jessica Brock, Talon Staff writer

Music has a profound influence on me. I listen to it in the car, and use it a lot to inspire me. Having music in my life at a young age has really opened my eyes. I played piano for over 6 years, then quit due to my growing love for track & field. But whenever I sit down on the golden seat for my piano, memories flood back to me. I put my fingers on the keys, and I’m off into another world. I realize that I’ve been missing more than I could know. I just can’t face the fact that I love music. I’ve been too busy to really understand and appreciate my grown ability to play the piano. I know that my piano playing abilities come from God. But at times it seems like that I can only choose one God given ability, or that I only have enough time for one.

God gives people special abilities and gifts throughout their lifetime. Some people are brilliant, some are fast. Some are people readers, some are skilled at working with animals. Some are even avid swimmers. Personally, I think that my gifts are being really fast, and playing the piano. First Corinthians 2:12 says, “Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might understand the things freely given us by God.” God gives people gifts, that sometimes go undiscovered for years. I was blessed to know at a young age that my gifts were truly mine. I remember racing my uncle at a young age in New York, during the winter. (I think I even beat him!) But I remember him talking to my father about getting me into track. Of course, we thought he was joking.

Not.

Johann Sebastian Bach. You’ve probably heard that name. Just to refresh your memory, he was an amazing musician. Underneath all of his signatures on his pieces, he wrote “ Soli deo gloria,” which means “ The Glory of God.” I think that He was a great example for us as Christians, that we might use our gifts for His glory.

1 Corinthians 10:31 ESV

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”