What Happens After We Graduate?

By America Lopez, Talon Staff Editor

The past couple of weeks I have been asking almost all the seniors what they plan to do after they graduate from Redwood in about a month. I asked each student where they were planning on going to college, what their intended major was, and whether attending Redwood influenced their decision in any way of where to attend college. Of course, I didn’t get to every single senior, but I tried. Out of the roughly 70 seniors (including myself), I received 40 responses.

A vast majority of this year’s graduates showed a preference for California, with only 6 going to school out of state, including Trevecca Nazarene University, Howard University, and New York University. Four students are going straight to a UC, with five more intending to transfer to a UC after getting their general education requirements fulfilled at a community college. Speaking of transfers, 12 seniors are intending to go to a community college and then transfer to a university.

The majors vary and include a wide variety of specialty fields, including Marine Transportation, Economics, Audio, and Kinesiology. The most popular majors are business with 5, and computer engineering with 4. However, the most popular major, by far, is “undecided” with 10 people unsure of their majors and 13 unsure of where they even want to go to school.

I think this is extremely interesting because with the universal decision deadline of May 1st, the amount of people who don’t know where they want to do is worrying and completely understandable.

I find it funny (in a sad way) that a lot of us are still treated like children, with the majority of the seniors being eighteen, and we are expected to make one of the biggest decisions of our lives at this age. I know that a lot of people say that’s not true and that we still have a lot of time to decide, but I don’t know if that’s necessarily true. If you decide to go to a college with an undecided major and then decide before your junior year that you want to major in robotics and your college doesn’t offer that major, you have a major problem on your hands. You can either change majors, which might make you unhappy, or transfer to another school, which would completely throw everything off. If you went to a major university for the initial years of your collegiate experience, you might have spent an excessive amount of money that you might be bitter about because you are not going to graduate and further your education there.

Everything (high-school wise) is coming to an end so quickly and it’s incredibly exciting, frustrating, and upsetting. I, personally, am very nervous. It’s becoming very real to me, very quickly, and I’m having to plan for my first year of college. I’m buying things for my dorm room and looking at my catalogue in order to get a jump start on the classes I need. Thankfully, I don’t start until October 2nd, and although I’m intimidated, I find comfort and I hope you do, as well, in knowing that God declared that He, “knows the plans I have for you, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope” (Jeremiah 29:11).