iPads- Within the Classroom

By Jessica Brock, Talon Staff writer

An iPad. When you think of that word, do you think of your brother in his pajamas, playing games on it? Or do you think of your grandmother waving goodbye to you through the screen as she boards her flight? Well, I’m guessing now you are now!

iPads are currently used as mobile devices used to ease your life. Here at Redwood, we take the average iPad, and change it into a mobile learning device. Within the classroom, the iPad device has many uses. It controls how the teacher operates the classroom, it can project presentations, it can take attendance, and unfortunately, can even have games to play when the teacher isn’t looking. Sometimes these privileges can be abused, although it isn’t common in Redwood. In Deuteronomy 33:16 says, “with the best gifts of the earth and its fullness….” that I believe goes along with another saying, “to whom much is given, much is also required.” If you abuse the privileges, they will be taken from you.

Here at Redwood we are on the cutting edge of technology. According to Mr Hearne, the methods that Redwood uses are second-to-none, and we are headed full steam into an uncharted territory of education. Also, Redwood is one of the only high schools that does not have a technology fee on top of tuition.

I conducted an interview with Mrs. Suth, a middle school, and high school teacher. I asked asked her,”Do iPads sometimes become a distraction, or even a hassle to work with?”

“I do not usually have students distracted by their iPads. They are usually taking notes or reading the material for discussion, or writing a timed writing assignment.”

Next, I asked, “Do you believe that the students you teach work responsibly with the iPads?” She responded, “I do believe my students are using their iPads responsibly, but remember , I teach seniors in an advanced placement college course. They must achieve high grades in order for their course to be credited by their colleges.”

Fourthly,I asked, “What do you specifically use the iPad for, teaching or personal?”

She said, “I use the iPad for some of my school responsibilities, however, I choose to teach from hard bound textbooks. All of my teaching notes are located in the novels I’ve taught for the last 11 years. I only have a few of the novels on my iPad. I do also use the iPad for personal use, though I do have a laptop as well.” Lastly, I inquired, “What is the most helpful app that you use?” To my final question, she replied, “The most helpful app I use is not connected to my high school classes. I like the brain school app which helps memory skills and critical thinking skills.”

The conclusion I drew from this interview, was that there are both good and bad sides to iPads. The individual is what makes the iPad either dangerous or helpful. We can either choose to take advantage of our iPads for a positive outcome or not.