What Are You Afraid Of?

 By: GRACE LIU, Talon Staff Writer

What are you afraid of?

When I was young, I did not understand what “fear” meant exactly. Time goes by so fast, one day I found out that everyone has their own fears. Even when you are a courageous, you still will find a thing that you are really afraid of.

What do I fear? Getting old or we can say “Growing up”. “Growing up” make me sad. It makes me sad all the time. Then, I find this sadness makes me scared.

When I was in middle school, I played everyday with my friends. We watched movies or went shopping. I did whatever I wanted and I didn’t study. One day, I looked at my mom carefully, I found there were lots of grey hair. I felt scared. I felt that time was still running fast, but I could do nothing to stop time!

I started to pay more attention to my schoolwork and my family. I am close to my parents, we are always chit chatting and we go shopping.

After I had been in America one year, my grandmother passed away, my mom lost her mom. I felt scared, I don’t want to grow up, I find when I grow up, my parents are getting older and older. One day I will lose them, I will be alone in this world.

Every day while I grow up, my parents are getting older.

Every time when I think about this unavoidable thing, I am so upset.

I want to stop time, want to stop growing up, want to keep my parents young.

I am afraid of growing up.