Fear Not

By Katie Calonje, Talon Staff Editor

Xanthophobia is the fear of the color yellow. Atelophobia is the fear of imperfections. Acrophobia is the fear of heights. Gerascophobia is the fear of growing old.

Fears and phobias are all around us and everybody has them whether or not you may acknowledge it. As I was doing research about phobias and fears, I realized I had many more than I originally thought I did. Some of the fears that people had may be completely ridiculous such as fearing anything associated to yellow and others that are more serious such as being afraid of dying or pain. Whatever fear it is, we should have faith in God that he was always be there for us and will help us overcome our fears and to face them. Even if you are afraid of meeting new people, confronting them, disappointing others, or any others, God will be there for you through it all to help you and trusting in him will give you more serenity and courage to face your fears.

One of the Bible verses that I find comfort in is in Joshua 1:9 which says “Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” As I interviewed a few of my friends, it occured to me that every single one of the fears that they had or that we have we can overcome and we shouldn’t fear anything because we have God by our side. Fear is real but we can learn to face them and conquer them. One of my friends told me that they feared that we wouldn’t be recognized or noticed and forgotten but we shouldn’t because God will be there always for us and will recognize us and our accomplishments. Our families will remember us, too.

Franklin D. Roosevelt said in his Pearl Harbor speech, on the day of infamy, “We have nothing to fear, but fear itself” and I find this to be true too because we should trust in God and have Him help us overcome our fears.