Treasure

treasure

By Alex Wang, Talon Staff writer

When I was a little boy, I didn’t understand my parents, I always thought they don’t love me because they always forced me to do something I don’t want to do. When other kids were getting video games, I got nothing; when other kids were calling me to hang out together, I only could tell them “my parents want me to do my homework”. I felt like I was a bird in the cage, I have wings but couldn’t fly.

When I grew up, I understood why my parents did those things to me. While other students couldn’t get into a  good school, I got into my dream high school easily. My parents knew what the difference between indulgence and recreation were. Nevertheless, I didn’t know that as a child. Childhood education is very important for a child, it will effect his/her whole life. Because I had a good childhood education, I can manage myself in America while my parents are in China.

This is how my parents love me, just like the Bible says: “love is patient”. When parents do something for us, they never tell us why they’re doing something for us. When people are taking care of you from their hearts, they won’t tell you why they do that. Parents’ love is patient, they take care of us year and year. Although we don’t understand it, although we don’t want to accept it, their love never changes.

I still remember a news story I watched before, a man murdered people, and when he was in jail, he was crying and saying that he regretted he didn’t listen to his parents’ words when he was little. He rejected his parents’ love so he failed in his life. We are high school students, in a few years we will live in the real society. If you are not accepting your parents’ love, please cherish their love from now on.

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” (1 Corinthians 13: 4-7)

Parents patiently love you so much, so why don’t we get more patience to love them?