Taking a Stand by Taking a Seat

By Zachary Harmon, Talon co-editor

Despite having tremendous freedom, we all seem to be creatures of habit. Once in a while, a high school student will find themselves in a class with no seating chart. It’s an exciting feeling, having the power to sit anywhere in the room. But what I’ve noticed is usually after the first quarter, if not sooner, people nestle in and sit in the same seats everyday, as if there were a seating chart.

I decided to run a little social experiment in my AP Lit class. I told no one my motives, or what I was doing. Not even our Talon co-editor knew I was working on this story.

We have fifteen people in our little group of bookworms, so what did I do? I took it upon myself and sat in every person’s seat over the period of two weeks of school.

The responses I got from my peers were very surprising. Did I mention there was no seating chart?

There were those who just quietly sat in another seat.

Most of the time all I heard was “Gosh, Zach, you’re ruining everything, why can’t you just sit in your own seat like the rest of us,” or just “Really?”

One person went as far as “accidentally tripping” over my backpack, dragging it across the room in the process spilling several of my books out along the way.

It wasn’t just the people whose seat I had taken that were agitated. One girl turned to me four or five times and said in a sad voice “you’re not Kirsten.”

The remark that stuck out to me the most was when someone stood next to me and said “Zach are we really going to do this? This is my seat, I don’t care if you sit in other people’s seat, but this is my seat.” For a second I thought I was about to get slapped, but I survived the encounter unharmed without ever changing seats, and unharmed.

After a while the experiment  started to reminded me a lot of being a Christian in a secular society. Whenever you say or do something that doesn’t jive with popular culture, people will be up in arms about it. It’s really easy just to go back and sit down in your little corner and not make waves. It’s an unfortunate trend that’s been happening since Biblical times.  Ezekiel 22:29-30, speaks of God looking for one person to take a stand and to fill in a breach in the wall for His land, but sadly He found none. Living the Christian Life is certainly a tough fight, as 2 Timothy points out in chapter 3 verse 12, “Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil people and imposter will go on from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.”

Don’t be afraid to do something different. While you’re taking a stand, I’ll take your seat.