My Dad, the Engineer From Intel.

   By Preston Hart

    My dad is a very experienced engineer. Before my dad was an engineer, he was a Marine, and a firefighter, also right now he is a chairman of the board for a shelter for veterans who cannot find a home. He is no ordinary engineer, he takes big machines apart, looks to see if everything is okay, and if anything is not okay, he fixes it. My dad has many different jobs that are very technical and precise in next generation processing, including chemical dispense systems, compressed gas cylinder management, and he’s the lead equipment engineer on nine different tools.

     Here is how it all works. In compressed gas cylinder management he maintains gas pad security and cylinder change out as required for the days that he is there. He is in charge of emergency response teams. These teams respond to all chemical medical or emergency situations while on shift. There are twelve people on his team, and he plans and conducts monthly training drills.

            Intel is also a very big eco-friendly company, they make plates and forks out of potatoes and vegetables. Intel has been doing eco-friendly company since 2002. Intel first installed solar systems in 2002. They have been the leader for being an eco-friendly company for 10 years.

   My dad’s job is a lot harder than it seems to most people. Eventhough he worked there for approximately 15 years, he makes mistakes. The first day that my dad worked there he broke a very important machine. He thought to himself,” Oh man my first day I am fired.”  He went to his boss and he told his boss what happened. His boss said,” Well go and fix it.” My dad also didn’t get fired. That is the story that my dad told me to encourage me to not lie to my boss.

    The first day that my dad went to Intel to sign up for the job, one of the questions from the guy was, “What have you been doing for the couple years that there are no records of you?” My dad answered the questions honestly. That is also one of the lessons that my dad taught me is to never lie when someone asks you about your resume’.

     My dad also had the privilege of running the Olympic torch in 2002. He was selected by the Utah Olympic committee for his humanitarian work with the homeless veteran shelter and the Big Brother Little Brother group in Menlo park. My dad donated 7000 hours a year from 1999 to 2005. He ran about a half a mile to the next stop point where he handed off the torch. The Olympic committee gave him his Olympic torch and his suit that he wore when he ran the torch. He still has all of his equipment and torch today. There were 200 Intel employees that were reviewed for the privilege to carry the torch, three were selected, including my dad. When I was about 9 months old, I touched the inside of the torch (which is supposed to be untouched).

   When my dad was in the Military he was the company gunnery sergeant. He was frontline infantry for the first seven years, he served in Africa, Philippines, and vietnam. He was then re-enlisted for crash fire rescue. He was the honor student out of the academy. In that crash fire rescue field, he controlled 7 firetrucks 3 cranes and 22 men. My dad’s most exciting point in his Marine days was the time he traveled in the air. He saw most of the world in a C-141.

    He crashed in a helicopter with all his firefighting men and all survived. The most rewarding time was when they had an A-1 jet in California, and he got to save the pilot’s life and get him back to safety. He left the Marine corps in 1984. He was then hired at San Onofre nuclear power plant as a firefighter paramedic. He served there from 1984-1986. After he left that job he went to Camp Pendleton fire department, when he learned structural, wildland firefighting tactics. He also took a class there and he graduated as an honor student.

       In 2001 my mother and father started building a rubber plantation in the Philippine islands. They currently hold 7 rubber plantations where 23,000 rubber trees are planted, and are currently 4 years old. We also have banana plantations, and coconut plantations. They also have 23 fultimetime employees and 16 part-time employee. We will start harvesting rubber from the trees in 2014. A rubber tree is tapped every other day for 25-30 years. Our trees are 23 feet tall, they will stop growing at 43 feet and get wider. Some rubber products that contain rubber are: tires,rubber belts for your car, surgical gloves, slippers, erasers, rubber toys, balloons, rubber boots, and etc. The last typhoon that just hit the Philippines missed our plantation by less than 30 miles. We surprisingly suffered no damages from the typhoon. My family has helped out the Philippines since the event occurred.

              We had a talk the other day with my mom, my dad, and I had a talk around the table about our regrets in life. My dad’s number one regret was trying to do stunts on a motorcycle. That sounds kind of weird, but when he jumped a ramp, he landed wrong and he broke both of his knees. Ever Since, he has been restricted to run like he used to run. In softball, the key is to run after you hit the ball. My dad has really tried to improve his strength to hit a lot harder. My dad is so dedicated that it is like stopping a bull from charging into a red cape.

     My dad is such an inspirational person, that is what I really love about my dad. Like 2 Timothy 3:16-17 says,” All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

    That is exactly what my fun-loving caring best dad in the world is. That is my dad’s normal life,  as crazy as it seems he loves it, I don’t personally get how he loves his daily life with hard work, but that is just him. Most kids take their dad for granted, but when they get hurt, you begin to think of all of the people who have divorced parents. You should always be 100% grateful for the people that God made for your life.