Eagle Selfie

By America Lopez
During my junior year in Bible, we had a discussion that lingered in my mind until this year. I’m the type of person who gets attached to certain conversations or thoughts and will engrave them in my mind for what seems like forever.

Our discussion had to do with those who have never heard of God. Someone said after class that if we were going to stick to the biblical ideal that those who didn’t accept Jesus didn’t get into heaven, we just accept that those who had never heard of him were going to hell. There was a moment of silence before I asked, “What about the tribes in South America who have never seen anyone but those they’ve been with as long as they lived?” They simply replied, “Their ignorance does not save them.”

I have a very short temper, and I get very annoyed at things that I probably shouldn’t. But, I knew this statement wasn’t right, perhaps it was the wording, or my hope that their would be hope for those that others deemed hopeless. It just seemed wrong to me.

As a senior, I have the ability to express this spiritual/biblical doubt in the Doubt Project. I had a fairly easy time finding Scripture to defend my doubt, a feat which made me uncomfortable and guilty. After pondering this new found evidence and watching a ruthless documentary or two, I didn’t think that I would be able to find a way to break the hold my doubt had had on my mind.

However, now that I’ve worked through and finished my realization, I realize that Scripture held the very answer I was hoping to find; Romans 1: 19-20.

“For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them.For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.”

God is everywhere, He creates the sunsets that paint the skies in the evening, the mews let out by kittens discovering the world for the first time, and the wrapping of a baby’s tiny hand wrapped around your thumb.

God is all powerful, he could easily reach the most remote tribe in the middle of nowhere. So, why would He not?
God reveals Himself in everything, for some, they think it’s just nature or science, but others see the beauty of Our Creator. Even those who do not know the name of God could see what He has done and believe in Him. God wouldn’t let those who don’t have the opportunity to have others spread the gospel of them just die without knowledge of their possible salvation. You don’t just draw a short straw, and that’s it.

Psalm 139 reads, “Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” God knew who we were going to become and what paths we would take before our great, great, great, great, great, grandparents were even formed. Whether you believe it or not, God knows everything. If He has the power to create you, he has the power to save you as well.

Just in case you hadn’t heard, last week, an eagle picked up a recording wildlife camera and flew with it until it reached its nest. You’re able to see the whole ride and then the rocks on which the eagle’s nest is perched. For thirty seconds, there’s just the landscape, and then out of nowhere, an eagle’s head pops up and pecks at the lens.

Isaiah 40:31 reminds us that,” those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

This is a reminder that even when we think we’re alone, we should continue to persevere in God and find our strength in Him, because when we least expect it, God could swoop in like the eagle did to the camera, and carry us to the kingdom of heaven. Even if we’re in the middle of nowhere.