Travy’s First Date

By: Travy Whitfield

When I was a sophomore in high school, I was a 15 year old boy who was only concerned about one thing. Women. When winter rolled around so did the Homecoming season, and I was NOT prepared whatsoever. I was bashful and did not have much skills when it came to the ladies, I know this sounds surprising. My freshman year I didn’t have a date and I was determined to change that.

I took a lot of time talking about this with my friends and I sought the wise counsel of my elders. When I came to a decision on who to ask, I was pretty confident. She was gorgeous and way out of my league, but I mustered up the confidence to start talking to her. The conversations were awkward at first (and only over Facebook), but as time went on they did get better. The days went on and the talks were going well, and I figured it was about time to ask the big question.

I was petrified when I was her walking in the hallway, I knew what I had to say but the cat had my tongue. I uttered the words, “Will you go to Homecoming with me?” There was an awkward pause, it felt like an eternity waiting for her answer. She said yes and I was the happiest guy on the face of the planet. But little did I know this homecoming would not be what I expected, not really the best night I thought it would be.

The lesson that I learned from this whole thing is that things don’t always go as we want them to. We I shouldn’t stress about things in my life, I should just let God be in charge of what goes on my life. Psalm 16:9, “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”