Growing Up With Gabby

By: Gabrielle Juslin

As a child you grow up wishing you were older, and as an adult you wish you were back in the old days. How ironic is that? Growing up teaches you and helps you mature for the better. When I think back to when I was younger, I know I was taught many life lessons.

Some were small and others were big, but one I remember was to always look adults in the eyes, and to always be respectful to them. It was hard at first because of course all little kids thinks grown ups are boring, but now a days, I get compliments of how respectful I am to adults and am good at keeping a conversations.

Some kids now a days grow up without the respect for their parents or adults in general. I am blessed to have learned that lesson from the beginning, it has helped me throughout my childhood and I know will definitely make a difference in my future.

God has told us to respect the governing authorities including our parents. He tells us this in Ephesians 6:1-4; “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. ‘Honor your father and mother’ (this is the first commandment with a promise), ‘that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.’ Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”

Editor-in-Chief note:

Working at the Talon is a little strange and ironic at times. We had quite an adventure trying to get a photograph of our staff writer, Ms. Juslin. Somehow, we ended up with the photo out front there, quite by accident. How ironic! A story about eye contact turns out to have a picture that does not include Gabby’s eyes!

So, in the spirit of good journalism, here is Ms. Juslin, complete with her eyes!
IMG_0384