Family Matters

By: Katie

    Thanksgiving has always been one of my favorite holidays and most of the time we just want to skip ahead and pretend it’s Christmas already which is one of the things that I normally catch myself doing around this time of year. Thanksgiving is truly a great way to spend time with your family and it is one the best times to think of what you’re thankful for. There are so many things that I am thankful for and even the little things. One of them is being able to have an amazing family, friends, and having a roof to live under. We are so privileged to have a roof to sleep under, to have food, and even an education because in other countries some people still don’t know how to read. Sometimes before I go to bed, I think of the things for which I am thankful and my blessings especially when I have a bad day and it helps me feel better. During thanksgiving, my entire family normally just gets together and we try to tell each other the funniest jokes that we have but we always end up laughing so much that last year when my aunt told a joke, my cousin fell out of her chair and landed her face in the dog’s food. It was hilarious and my family loves to make memories together and to just be happy with each other. In 1 Timothy 4:4-5 it says “For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving,  because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer.” and we should be thankful for everything that God gave us even our crazy families.