Thanksgivin with the Dzoans

By: Justin Dzoan

It’s that time of year again to think about everything for which we are thankful. It’s Thanksgiving and I’m ecstatic!

I’m excited to see my family and pig out! I’m so thankful for my parents, grandparents, brother, and my sister! I’m going to fill up on turkey! Mashed potatoes and gravy!

I love waking up in the morning, smelling the turkey roasting in the oven. Butter gets poured all over the turkey. The creamy, mashed potatoes being poured into a bowl. The buttery corn and green beans on the table.

Every year, my brother, Matthew Dzoan, makes this thing he calls, “his masterpiece.” It’s when he mixes his mashed potatoes with corn and drizzles gravy all over it. It looks very strange. He’s a very messy eater.

A tradition my family does every year is go to my uncle’s house and eat there. We have the traditional Thanksgiving food and serve Vietnamese and Chinese food as well. I try my best to eat everything. We always watch the traditional Thanksgiving football game as well. This is a great time for our big family to bond and I’m glad Thanksgiving is coming soon.

Psalm 95:2-3 says, “Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song.  For the LORD is the great God, the great King above all gods.” Let us praise God for everything that we have and everything He has given us. I’m thankful for being blessed and for living this life He has given me.