A Bountiful Harvest

By Katie Calonje

Thanksgiving is around the corner and it is about time to give thanks to one of the things that God gives us to live which is… food!

One of my favorite foods that my mom makes for Thanksgiving is the mouth-watering mashed potatoes with gravy and at times when I was younger I would pretend that the gravy was lava which made the festive meal even more enjoyable for me.

Another part of my Thanksgiving dinner that I remember were the amazing and deliciously drooling spreads and there is one that my mom use from spoon fork bacon’s online cookbook. First thing that you need to do in order to make this spread, it wash your hands! No one wants to have a dirty meal and then you need to get out the cooking tools. Normally the first thing my mom cooks is the pumpkin pie.  Since it is difficult to explain, all you need to know for making this delectable and scrumptious  pie is in the link below which you can copy and paste.

While you are waiting you can put the “juicy relishing ham” into the oven on a pan to defrost if there are some people in your family that do prefer to eat ham. There is also other link at the bottom if you to learn how to make it.

Food is one of the best things that God gives us and I’m extremely thankful for having food. In Genesis 1:11-12 “God said, ‘Let the earth sprout vegetation, plants yielding seed, and fruit trees bearing fruit in which is their seed, each according to its kind, on the earth.’ And it was so.” God allowed us to have food and we need to be grateful for this.

Pumpkin Recipe:

Ingredients

Serves: 8

1 frozen unbaked deep dish pie crust, (9-inch) or Signature Pie Crust

1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin

1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

2 eggs

1 tablespoon McCormick® Pumpkin Pie Spice

See the full recipe here