Mrs. Cherry- Redwood’s North Star.

By Travis Whitfield – Talon Staff Writer

I had the pleasure of interviewing Mrs. Cherry, the Junior’s English teacher. I’m comparing her to Polaris (the North Star). Her care and concern for her students along with her great teaching skills make her a shining star on our campus. Polaris is and has been a very important to us.

For thousands of years Polaris has been used as a guiding star and reference point for navigators and astronomers. Through experience and observation they discovered the North Star lights the way to true north.
Before compasses were used for navigation, Polaris was the only thing sailors could use to help them go the right direction.

Like Polaris, Mrs. Cherry continues to guide her students, her family, friends, and others in the right direction in life. Who inspires Mrs. Cherry to be the shining star she is?

“My students inspire me, and so does Jesus.”

Another great thing about Mrs. Cherry is that among great things she does for others on and off campus, she remains humble and keeps God first.

When asked what has she done for the school, community, or church she said, “I just do what I need to do, I focus ultimately on Christ first, I don’t worry about what other people think, I strive for excellence and obedience.”

Psalm 32:8 says,”I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.” Mrs. Cherry instructs and guides not just her students, but her family, her church, and her community. So students, stop by room 13 some time and get to know this star.