An Interview with Mr. Cagle

By: Travis Whitfield

Displaying IMG_0499.JPGI got to sit down with the head of our Choir department, Mr. Cagle!

Mr. Cagle is a pretty well educated guy, he got his Bachelors of Arts in Music from Cal State University Stanislaus and received his Masters in Music from Cal State University.

The choir students are in for a great experience this year. “Expect to see a chance to learn how to read music, to become a better musician, learn about the voice, and to become a better singer, and also to go off campus to choir festivals and just to sing for the community, we haven’t done a whole lot of singing for the community so I hope to do that this year.” Mr. Cagle said.

When asked what he was most excited about for this year, he had this to say, “I’m excited about a lot of things. Mostly excited about the enthusiam from the students in choir, you know, the students happy to be in choir. Just the chance to make music with our voices to glorify God that’s always so exciting.” The Scriptures tell us to lift our voice to praise The Lord. Psalm 95:1 says, “Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation.”

What does Nuclear Power and teaching choir have in common? Both include a harmonious organization of the elements. Mr. Cagle took his nuclear smarts to the choir loft. His students are now glowing for Jesus. Here’s something you may not know about Mr. Cagle; he was in the Navy When I was in the Navy I got schooling for nuclear power. I felt God calling me to do music about three weeks before I was discharged. But it wasn’t until the very end of my service I felt sure The Lord was calling me to music.”

So students, support our choir this year!